PiL - Hollywood, Palladium, USA
June 10th, 1983

Running Order:
1. Public Image
2. Low Life
3. Annalisa
4. Albatross
5. This is Not A Love Song
6. Solitaire
7. Religion
8. Four Enclosed Walls
9. Flowers Of Romance
10. Banging The Door
11. Death Disco
12. Anarchy In The UK
13. Bad Life
14. Chant

Running Time:
63 minutes (approx)

Sound Quality:
(8) nice and clear low gen Audience Recording
Tape Gradings Explained here

review by DINO EVERETT

Portions of this show are featured in the Japan live 83 video/dvd, and this gig is the first recording with the new "cabaret" members. Live debuts of 'Albatross' & 'Solitaire'. A (very) slight upgrade with no editing between encores also exists, running to 76 mins).

The tape starts off a bit rocky as the taper adjusts the levels but quickly sets them, and after the first song the crowd movement seems to calm down which takes care of some of the modulation that occurs. The interesting thing is John makes immediate mention of a gig in Pasadena, stating that this one will not be as bad as that one. At first I thought it might be an unknown warm up gig played before Hollywood, but we checked with members of the band, and Hollywood was definitely the first show they played, so John is obviously referring to the Pasadena gigs from the year before...

Anyway this gig is a little rough around the edges and the new plinky bass sound definitely takes some getting used to, as well as the keyboards that are now more like sugar frosting as opposed to Levene's which were intimidating and striking. To my knowledge this was the first (and last) time PiL would play 'Albatross', and the keyboards really just seem to vamp around with no real structure, John even says to someone in the band "Well you fucked that one up for us didn't ya?" Who he was talking to is anyone's guess. Even 'Chant' sounds a little disjointed, it sort of falls apart at the end. I would bet they tried that since they had played it at virtually every gig up to that point and maybe it just didn't work...

There is a small clip on the tail end of 'Banging the Door' which came at the end of a tape side. The most noticeable difference is the demeanour of John Lydon. He seems much more relaxed than prior PiL recordings. There is a break after 'Death Disco' that clips off something that John says and then the biggest drawback is the tape breaks during 'Anarchy In The UK' which is a shame. From the sounds of it the taper got bumped and it shut off since when it comes back he adjusts the levels, so perhaps the level got knocked down. There is another break after 'Anarchy' as the band leaves the stage again. But nothing is missed.

Overall a pretty decent gig and important since it marks the beginning of a new era...


Bootleg Guide | Fodderstompf